Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Zoo - 1991 - Shakin' The Cage

Shakin' the Cage is a single by The Zoo, released in 1992. The album features Fleetwood Mac's Mick Fleetwood, Bekka Bramlett and Billy Burnette and our own Billy Thorpe. It reached #19 on the U.S. Billboard Mainstream Rock charts.


01 Shakin' The Cage
02 Takin' It Out To The People

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Silverchair - 1997 - Freak FLAC

"Freak" is a 1997 song by Silverchair, released as the first single from their second album Freak Show. The song reached number 1 in the Australian charts; it was the second single by Silverchair to do so, after "Tomorrow" in 1994. The band would not have another number 1 hit until "Straight Lines" in 2007. One of the B-sides of the single is a cover of "New Race" by Australian band Radio Birdman.


01 Freak
02 New Race
03 Punk Song 2

Silverchair - 1997 - Cemetery FLAC

"Cemetery" is a single by the Australian alternative rock band Silverchair. The song is found on the band's second album Freak Show. It was also included on their Best of Volume 1. "Cemetery" charted at #5 on the Australian charts.


01 Cemetery
02 Slab (nicklaunoise mix)
03 Cemetery (acoustic)

Youth Group - 2006 - Forever Young FLAC

Youth Group was a rock band based in Newtown, Sydney, Australia. Built around the vocals of singer Toby Martin and production of Wayne Connolly, the sound of Youth Group is reminiscent of indie rock artists such as Teenage Fanclub, Pavement and Death Cab for Cutie.
The band formed in Sydney in the late 1990s and has released four albums, three of which have gained worldwide release. They achieved major success in 2006 when their cover of Alphaville's "Forever Young", which had been recorded for the soundtrack of the US TV drama The O.C., was released as a single and reached No. 1 in Australia, attaining platinum status.


01 Forever Young
02 Someone Else's Dream
03 Forever Young (Edit)

Monday, 21 November 2016

Vanessa Amorosi - 2000 - Shine

"Shine" is the third single from Vanessa Amorosi's debut album The Power. After its release in May 2000, this ballad jumped straight into the ARIA charts at #4 position, went Gold two weeks later, and Platinum a one month after that. Vanessa sang "Shine" at the Opening Ceremony of the Paralympic Games 2000, which was broadcast in 80 countries. "Shine" has won the APRA award 2001 for being the most played song on Australian radio in 2000. Vanessa Amorosi performed her hit "Shine" at the 2002 Commonwealth Games closing ceremony in Manchester.


01 Shine ( Radio version)
02 Shine ( Extended Radio Vesion)
03 Shine (R&B Version)
04 Shine (Extended R&B Version)
05 Shine (Unplugged  Version)
06 Steam

S@nt@n@ - 2002 - Game 0f L0ve

"The Game of Love" is a song performed by Santana from the album Shaman by Santana. The vocal performance on the song is by Michelle Branch. It was composed by Gregg Alexander and Rick Nowels. The song was launched as single in 2002, and won a Grammy Award for "Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals", as well as peaking at No. 5 in on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart.


01 The Game of Love [Radio Mix]
02 Come to My World
03 Curacion (Sunlight on Water)

Wes Carr - 2008 - You

"You" is the debut single from the 2008 Australian Idol winner, Wes Carr. It was released digitally on 23 November 2008, and physically on 3 December 2008. It is the lead single from his second studio album, The Way the World Looks. The song debuted at #3 on the ARIA Singles Chart, before climbing to #2, then peaking at #1, in its third week, and certified Gold. It then fell to #2 for two weeks, and then spent its final week inside the top ten at #8.


01 You
02 Get Back
03 Desire
04 If I Were A Carpenter

Friday, 18 November 2016

Kate DeAraugo - 2005 - Maybe Tonight

 Katherine Jenna "Kate" DeAraugo, (born 5 November 1985), is an Australian singer-songwriter who was the third winner of Australian Idol in 2005. After idol, DeAraugo signed to Sony BMG and released her debut single, "Maybe Tonight", in November 2005. The single debuted and peaked at Number 1 on the ARIA Charts and was certified platinum.


01 Maybe Tonight
02 Ironic (Live on Australian Idol)

Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Kasey Chambers - 2001 - Not Pretty Enough

"Not Pretty Enough" is a country song written by Kasey Chambers, produced by Nash Chambers for Chambers's second album Barricades & Brickwalls. It was released as the album's third single in the start of 2002 (see 2002 in music) in Australia as a CD single. It was a No. 1 hit in Australia the same year.


01 Not Pretty Enough
02 These Days
03 Tear Stained Eyes
04 Too Long In The Wasteland

Thursday, 3 November 2016

Southern Sons - 1991 - Train Tracks FLAC

Southern Sons was an Australian band, of the early 1990's originally billed as The State, and fronted by lead vocalist and guitarist Irwin Thomas, who was then billed as "Jack Jones", who moved to the Victorian town of Traralgon from the United States in his secondary school years. They are best known for their hits "Heart in Danger", "Hold Me in Your Arms", and "You Were There". 1990 saw the release of their debut self-titled album, Southern Sons (which spawned three top ten hit singles) and a five-track EP, Train Tracks, released to coincide with Buckle and Jones' return to Southern Sons' duties after a European tour with Farnham. Thanks to Mustang


01 Waiting for That Train
02 More Than Enough (Live)
03 Do You Want My Love (Live)
04 Make a Move (Live)
05 Hold Me in Your Arms (Live)

Wednesday, 2 November 2016

The Church - 2001 - Numbers WAVE

The Church are an Australian psychedelic rock band formed in Sydney in 1980. Initially associated with new wave, neo-psychedelia and indie rock, their music later came to feature slower tempos and surreal soundscapes reminiscent of dream pop and post-rock.
The founding members were Steve Kilbey on lead vocals and bass guitar, Peter Koppes and Marty Willson-Piper on guitars and Nick Ward on drums. Ward only played on their debut album and the band's drummer for the rest of the 1980s was Richard Ploog. Jay Dee Daugherty (ex-Patti Smith Group) played drums from 1990 to 1993, followed by Tim Powles (ex-The Venetians) who remains with them to the present day. Koppes left the band from 1992 to 1997 and Willson-Piper left in 2013. He was replaced by Ian Haug, formerly of Powderfinger.


01 Numbers
02 Numbers [Soft Mix]
03 Undo
04 Oxydental

Tuesday, 1 November 2016

No Doubt - 2003 - It's My Life FLAC

The American rock band No Doubt recorded a cover version of "It's My Life" a song by the English new wave band Talk Talk to promote their first greatest hits album The Singles 1992–2003. Because the band was on hiatus, while lead singer Gwen Stefani recorded her solo debut studio album, they decided to record a cover to avoid having to write a new song.[19] The band listened to hundreds of songs from the 1980s and narrowed it down to "It's My Life" and INXS' song "Don't Change". No Doubt were dubious about recording a cover and contemplated writing new material. However, they decided on "It's My Life" after rehearsing the song with producer Nellee Hooper, referring to it as a "feel good" song. The song was nominated for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal at the 47th Grammy Awards.


01 It's My Life
02 Sunday Morning (2002 Live)
03 RockSteady (2002 Live)
04 Bathwater (2002 Live)